20 de Octubre de 2014

Location of Nuevo León

Nuevo León is located near the border of the country and the Gulf of México.

Mapa del Estado de Nuevo León

Nuevo Leon is located in the northeast of Mexico. Its surface is 64,220 sq km, 3.3% of the total surface of the country.

It shares borders with Tamaulipas (east and north), San Luis (south), Zacatecas (south), Coahuila (west), and Texas (north).

The geographic coordinates that contain the state are: to the north 27º 49' and to the south 23º 11' latitude north. To the east 98º 26' and to the west 101º 14' latitude west.


Monterrey is the capital of Nuevo Leon. It’s located 73 km away from Saltillo, Coahuila; 900 km from Mexico City; 223 km from Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas; and 300 km from the port of Matamoros, Tamaulipas. This strategic position has made it one of the main commercial roadways in Mexico.

Take a look at this highway map of the state, for more information.

There are 51 municipalities in the estate. The 9 that make up the Metro Monterrey area are: Monterrey, San Pedro Garza García, Santa Catarina, Guadalupe, San Nicolás de los Garza, Apodaca, General Escobedo y Juárez.

You can find more information in this section devoted to municipalities.

Quick facts

Geo coordinates: latitude 27º 49' north, 23º 11' south, longitude 98º 26' east and 101º 14' west.

Municipalities: 51

Municipalities in the Monterrey Metro area: 9

Contactos y servicios útiles: